Beneficiary Cities

Law no. 285/1997 (art. 1, par. 2) allocates a share of the funds earmarked for policies in favour of children and adolescents to the so-called Beneficiary Cities, i.e.15 large towns and metropolitan areas: Bari, Bologna, Brindisi, Cagliari, Catania, Florence, Genoa, Milan, Naples, Palermo, Reggio Calabria, Rome, Taranto, Torino, Venice. These local institutions represent a sort of “basic core” for the policies of Law no. 285 and they are as well a small “test laboratory” in the field of childhood and adolescence. With the help of the National Centre, the Cities maintain a stable network of relations and collaborations with the aim of exchanging experiences, information and planning methodologies.